ATPA Honors Arizona’s Top RV Parks

April 15, 2008 by   - () Comments Off on ATPA Honors Arizona’s Top RV Parks

Coming off a successful winter season, the Arizona Travel Parks Association (ATPA) honored member “parks of the year” at its annual convention April 9-11 at the Holiday Inn & Suites in Tucson, Ariz.
Sixty-five people attended the three-day convention, which is held at the end of the members’ busiest season of the year.
“Everybody we’ve talked to said their winter season has been up, especially the short-term,” Dan Thompson, newly elected president, told Woodall’s Campground Management. He said guests were “coming earlier and staying longer.”
Honored as the top parks of the year by size were: Mega Park, Palm Creek Golf & RV Resort, Casa Grande; Large Park, Rincon Country East RV Resort, Tucson; and Medium Park, Butterfield RV Park, Benson.
ATPA held a vendor show, attended by 12 companies, and held four seminars. The speakers were: attorney Denise Blommel, who spoke on employment law; attorney William Whitfield, who spoke on immigration employment; Earl Eddie of Bedford Capital Group, who spoke on tax and financing solutions; and Patrick Murphy of Spectrum Printing, who spoke on innovation in printing and advertising.
Jo Ann Mickelson, a member of the board of the National Association of RV Parks and Campgrounds (ARVC) and an ATPA board member, updated the convention on the latest news involving ARVC and the benefits of belonging to the association.
Thompson said ATPA members also were briefed on House Bill 2123, dubbed the Recreational Vehicle Park Utility Bill. ATPA helped craft the bill, which would be an addition to the Arizona Long-Term RV Space Act governing landlord-tenant rights pertaining to utility fees.
New officers elected to one-year terms were President Dan Thompson, The Resort RV Park, Mesa; Vice President Merlin Jones, Eagle View RV Park, Fort McDowell; Treasurer Saundra Bryn, Desert’s Edge RV Village, Phoenix; and Secretary Jo Ann Michelson, J&H RV Park, Flagstaff.
Board members elected were Sue Fuller, Voyager RV Resort, Tucson; Jo Ann Sanford, Far Horizons Tucson Village, Tucson; Dean Buford, Caravan Oasis, Yuma; Jack Denton, Flagstaff Grand Canyon KOA, Flagstaff; Randy Hendrickson, Horizon RV Resorts, Phoenix; Dave Schenck, Leavitt Recreation Hospitality Insurance, Scottsdale; and Morris Farnsworth, Arizona RV Resort Living, Mesa.


Comments are closed.