Doug Shearer Elected New TACO President

January 20, 2009 by   - () Comments Off on Doug Shearer Elected New TACO President

Doug Shearer of Parkview Riverside RV Park in Concan, Texas, was elected president of the Texas Association of Campground Owners (TACO), which represents nearly 400 private campgrounds and RV resorts in Texas and New Mexico.
Shearer, who has served on TACO’s board of directors for the past five years, was elected to a two-year term earlier this month during TACO’s winter meeting. He said his priorities for 2009 and 2010 will include supporting the association’s marketing and advertising programs, which are designed to entice camping and RVing enthusiasts to TACO-affiliated parks.
These efforts include online marketing to camping and RV enthusiasts through and and through the annual Texas RV Travel & Camping Guide, a free 164-page directory that is distributed to consumers through campgrounds, Texas Travel Information Centers, chambers of commerce, visitors’ bureaus and RV shows.
Other campground industry leaders who are joining Shearer for a two-year term on TACO’s board of directors are:

  • 1st Vice President Robert Kennedy of Lubbock RV Park in Lubbock.
  • 2nd Vice President Don Temple of Guadalupe River RV Resort in Kerrville.
  • Secretary Mac McLaughlin of Hatch RV Park in Corpus Christi.
  • Treasurer Allan Hughes of Traders Village in Grand Prairie.
    Carolyn Brown of Boone RV Park in Lampasas, Gwen Craig of Rayford Crossing RV Resort in Spring and Joe Moore of The Vineyards Campground in Grapevine were elected as directors at large, while Terry Cagle of Little Creel Resort in Chama, N.M., was elected to represent TACO’s New Mexico members. Terry Munoz of Thousand Trails-Lake Conroe in Willis is TACO’s past president.

  • Comments

    Comments are closed.