Colo. Campground Owners Ready for Season

February 26, 2009 by   - () Comments Off on Colo. Campground Owners Ready for Season

Members of the Colorado Campground and Lodging Owners Association (CCLOA) left their annual convention and trade show, held Feb. 17-19, ready for the new camping season.
“From what I heard, I think people left pretty encouraged, actually,” Dana Foran, CCLOA administrator, told Woodall’s Campground Management. “One of the trends we’ve seen in Colorado the past couple of years is Coloradoans are staying within the state to camp. And cabin camping is really on the rise. I got some very positive feedback.”
With gasoline prices half of what they were a year ago, this will be an added incentive for campers, she predicted.
The three-day convention, conducted at the Double Tree Hotel in Grand Junction, attracted 50 people representing 22 member campgrounds. The convention included educational seminars for certified park operator (CPO) credit and a vendor show featuring 12 campground suppliers.
Special guests were Linda Profaizer, president and CEO of the National Association of RV Parks and Campgrounds (ARVC), who spoke on industry trends and ARVC member benefits, and Mary Arlington, representing GuestReviews.
Renee Waller, the keynote speaker, spoke on the topic, “Working Positively Through Change.” Sessions were conducted on the topics of Colorado tourism, Workamping and marketing.
For the first time, some of the convention was video-recorded, Foran noted. Keith Bennett, a CCLOA associate/supplier member, who led the discussion on marketing, videotaped most of the meeting. Plans are to post excerpts on the association’s website,
Attendees also took part in a park operators tour the first day of the convention at three campgrounds: Mobile City RV Park,
Junction West RV Park and RV Ranch at Grand Junction.
During the general membership meeting CCLOA members elected the following officers to one-year terms:

  • President Gene and Johanna Farrar, Snowy Peaks RV Park, Buena Vista.
  • Vice President Tom and Mari Garland, Junction West RV Park, Grand Junction.
  • Secretary/Treasurer Stan and Pat Stehwien, Gunnison Lakeside Resort, Gunnison.
    Regional directors, elected to two-year terms, were:

  • Harold and Joan Skinner, Chalk Creek Campground & RV Park, Nathrop.
  • Jim and Dee Ozburn, Falcon Meadow Campground, Falcon.
  • Ian and Sally Steyn, Castle Rock RV Park, Castle Rock.
  • Tom Bell, Montrose RV Resort, Montrose.
  • Scott Foos, Garden of the Gods Campground, Colorado Springs.
  • Marlin and Shirley Neff, Greeley RV Park, Greeley.
  • Comments

    Comments are closed.