Ohio Park Owners Fight Longer School Year

March 20, 2009 by   - () Comments Off on Ohio Park Owners Fight Longer School Year

Gov. Ted Strickland’s proposal to lengthen the school year in Ohio by 20 days over the next 10 years isn’t sitting well with the state’s campground owners.
“Our members are very passionate about that; they don’t want it to cut into the summer,” Kristy M. Smith, executive director of the Ohio Campground Owners Association (OCOA), told Woodall’s Campground Management.
The governor’s proposal, which would add two days each year to the current school year of 182 days so that the school year totals 202 days in 10 years, was a major focus of the legislative affairs discussion at the OCOA Annual Spring Conference & Trade Show March 13-14 in Columbus, Ohio.
OCOA members favor lengthening the school day to obtain the desired result: giving students more instructional time in the classroom, she said.
The 70 attendees representing 35 campgrounds at the conference also heard news of various state plans to generate more revenue by upping the fees assessed for various campground permits, licenses and inspections.
Linda Profaizer, president and CEO of the National Association of RV Parks and Campgrounds (ARVC), gave the keynote address on the topic: “Where Do We Go from Here?” She discussed how the current economic crisis is challenging the campground industry to rethink its everyday business. She also led a seminar on the National Operations and Economic Survey report.
Five other seminars were held on the topics of state health rules and regulations, electrical upgrades, campground safety, perspectives on the industry and website importance
All 33 vendor booths were filled for the trade show.
About $3,200 was raised during the auction for association activities.
Several offices were filled with new officers. They were:

  • Vice President of Government Affairs Chip Hanawalt, Autumn Lakes Campground, Sunbury.
  • Vice President of Public Relations Robert Romeyn, Maple Lakes Recreational Park, Seville.
  • Secretary, Elaine Harris, Twin Lakes Park, Bluffton.
    Newly elected trustees and alternates are: Joan Faneuff, Leafy Oaks Campground, Clyde; Dorothy Seeman, Foxfire Family Fun Park, Nevada; Bill Miller, Stony Ridge KOA, Stoney Ridge; Randy Perry, Pleasant View Campground, Van Buren; Brenda Lucas, Camp Toodik Family Campground, Loudonville; Barbara Kuder, Stoneridge Terrace Campground, Salem; Jeff Coldon, Kool Lakes Family RV Park, Parkman; Mark Kasper, Lazy River at Granville, Granville; Richard Felber, Dogwood Valley Family Campground, Mount Gilead; David Stevens, Enon Beach Campground, Springfield; and Annmaire McClellan, Arrowhead Campground, New Paris.
    The OCOA’s 2010 meeting will be held in Columbus March 12-13.

  • Comments

    Comments are closed.