ARVC Announces Strategic Planning Assignments

June 3, 2011 by   - () Comments Off on ARVC Announces Strategic Planning Assignments

Assignments have been made for the new Strategic Planning Task Force Subcommittees for the National Association of RV Parks and Campgrounds (ARVC).

The three SPT teams, individual team responsibilities and their members are as follows, as reported in this month’s issue of the ARVC Report. SPC indicates a member of the Strategic Planning Committee:

  • State and National Roles and Responsibilities Team Goal: To delineate duties and responsibilities of National ARVC and state associations; to determine possible structures of cooperation and efficiency that will advance the Outdoor Hospitality Industry.

Team members:

Member Park: Mike Gurevich, CPO, Cherry Hill Park, Md., 400 sites.

Member Park: Mari Garland, CPO, Junction West RV, Colo., 70 sites.

CAMP: Debbie Sipe, California executive director.

CAMP: Bobby Cornwell, Florida executive director.

SPC: Rob Schutter, CPO, Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park.

SPC: Paul Bambei, ARVC president/CEO.

Business Forum: Wade Elliott, Utility Supply Group.

  • Communications Planning Team Goal: To provide a communications plan that will keep member parks informed of all vital ARVC activity and opportunities; to provide a plan that is designed to connect National ARVC, state association, and members with continuity and mutual flow of information.

Team members:

Member Park: Meaghan Bertram, CPO, Vineyard RV Park, Calif., 110 sites

Member Park: Sheri Weber, Geneseo RV Park, Ill., 74 sites.

Member Park: Mary Arlington, CPO, High Plains Camping, Kan., 74 Sites.

CAMP: Sharon Vennen, Louisiana association manager.

SPC: Marcia Galvin, CPO, Normandy Farms Family Camping Resort, Mass., 379 sites/Massachusetts executive director.

SPC: Mark Anderson, CPO, Camp Chautauqua, N.Y., 250 sites.

Business Forum: Lucas Hartford, Evergreen USA Insurance

  • Membership Value Team Goal: To weigh the benefits of ARVC membership appropriate to the dues paid, in order to determine the essential functions that ARVC should supply to each member; to illustrate how ARVC can provide the greatest value of membership to RV parks and campgrounds.

Team members:

Member Park: Peter Brown, Lone Oak, Conn., 500 sites.

Member Park: Roger L. Thompson, CPO, Driftwood RV Park, Ore., 110 sites.

Member Park: Bud Styer, CPO, Smokey Hollow Campground, Wis., 250 sites.

Member Park: Ian Steyn, CPO, Castle Rock RV Park and Campground, Colo., 141 sites.

SPC: Michael Gelfand, Terra Vista Management, Calif., 570 sites.

SPC: Patrick O’Neill, CPO, Camping on the Gulf, Fla., 200 sites.

Business Forum: Vic Nolting, (former large park owner), LSI.

Chairman Berg, CPO, Red Apple Campground, Maine, 140 sites, will attend various task force team meetings and may participate in discussions but not vote.

Written recommendations from each SPT will be delivered to the SPC no later than Sept. 8. The SPC will make the recommendations from all three teams available to the AR VC membership and all participants of the SPT teams. The SPC will review all SPT reports and bring forth various recommendations to the full AR VC Board of Directors for action no later than the annual convention to be held in Savannah, Ga. Nov. 30 to Dec. 2.


In February, on behalf of the ARVC Strategic Planning Committee (SPC), Chairman Berg sent out a call to action seeking volunteers to serve on one of three task force sub-committees. The long-standing SPC, consisting of members of the Executive Committee and Ann Emerson of the Business Forum, will be responsible for compiling and presenting formal recommendations from each Strategic Planning Task Force Sub-Committee (SPT) to the full ARVC board for consideration.

Each SPT consists of seven members serving at their own expense, typically made up of two SPC members, three ARVC member park owners, an executive director from an affiliated or cooperating state, and one member of the ARVC Business Forum. The three volunteer-only teams are scheduled to meet independently at various locations throughout the country through late June for a two-day, face-to-face work session.

Thereafter, each team will meet electronically as required. A team leader will be chosen by SPT members and will be the spokesperson for the team – reporting to the SPC and other SPT team leaders as necessary.


Comments are closed.