RV/MH Hall Announces the 2013 Inductees

February 20, 2013 by   - () Comments Off on RV/MH Hall Announces the 2013 Inductees

Hall names 2013 inductees

The RV/MH Heritage Foundation board has announced the names of those who will be inducted into the RV/MH Hall of Fame as the Class of 2013.

According to a press release, the induction ceremonies will be held at the RV/MH Hall of Fame in Elkhart, Ind., during the annual induction dinner on Aug. 5.

Darryl Searer, president of the foundation, said, “It is my great pleasure to welcome these new inductees who will join the honored rolls of industry leaders, pioneers and innovators who have made significant contributions the RV and manufactured housing industries. I join their friends, family and colleagues in congratulating the following honorees.”

RV industry inductees are:

  • Kirwan Elmers, an RV bus converter from Custom Coach in Columbus, Ohio. Beginning with his father in 1955, he has been for over 50 years, a major innovator in the creation of luxury RVs from bus shells. Among the innovations he helped to engineer are the first automatic transmission in an intercity bus shell (1956), first backup camera in a motorcoach (1965), first cruise control in a motorcoach (1967) and the first quick change lounge area that automatically converted to a bedroom (1986). He served 10 years as president of the Family Motor Coach Association (FMCA) Commercial Council.
  • C.M. Fore (deceased), an RV manufacturer from Foretravel, Inc. in Nacogdoches, Texas. Since founding his company in 1967, he has been a leader in the evolution of luxury Class A motorhomes. He was among the first to use diesel engines in motorhomes, and among the first to build pusher chassis. He built the first uni-body motorhomes and pioneered the use of many household features such as multiple air conditioners, central vacuum systems, ice maker refrigerators and more. He led the concept of factory owned stores by creating factory outlets in major markets around the country.
  • Lawrence C. Lippert, an RV and MH industry supplier from Lippert Components Inc. in Goshen, Ind. Beginning his company in 1955 with two employees, he built it into the largest component supplier in the industry. The company provides every thing from frames and chassis to roof materials for both homes and RVs. Products have included axles, countertops, mattresses, draperies and furniture. Now a third generation family led company, he is recognized for building a generous corporate citizen employing over 4,500 workers in 12 states.
  • Mathew Perlot (deceased), an RV manufacturer from Safari Motorhomes in Harrisburg, Ore. For over 25 years Perlot has been recognized as an innovator and leader in the motorhome industry. He pioneered the concept of the affordably priced diesel pusher and the automatic awning. He was honored as RV Executive of the Year in 1994. He took Safari and Beaver public in 1996 and eventually sold them to Monaco Coach Corp.
  • Thomas Walworth, an RV and manufactured housing industry consultant and statistician from Statistical Surveys Inc. (SSI) in Grand Rapids, Mich. Under his leadership, his company has become the recognized official scorecard for sales in both the RV and manufactured housing industries in the U.S. and Canada. He has served for over 20 years on the RVIA Market Information Committee. His data has become relied upon for marketing planning by every major company in either industry.

The committee also announced the names of four inductees from the manufactured housing side.


Comments are closed.